Please wait...

VGR 2017
SMA 2017

Latest News

MANSA executive committee greets DG Shipping Dr. Malini Shankar and assure her unconditional cooperation

BSN Network
Date: 19/01/2017
images/latest_news/1484826135mansa dg photo 1.jpg

Mumbai, January 2017: The executive committee of Mumbai and Nhava Sheva Ship Agents Association called upon the new Director General of Shipping Dr Malini Shankar at her office and assured her complete co-operation as a reliable and responsible stakeholder.

Welcoming her to the maritime universe, Captain Vivek Anand, President, MANSA, on behalf of the executive committee said, “We have assured her of our full support and unconditional cooperation in her new voyage as the shipping regulator. We also briefed her and submitted the recent reports published by our association.” Capt. Vivek S. Anand also explained the role and the activities of MANSA in the maritime trade in brief along with the functions of the Ship Agents exclusively.

Captain Anand was accompanied by MANSA’s Vice Presidents -- Captain Gave Sarkari and Hiren C. Ved and Ms. Rukhsana Vohra and Ms. Mousumi Guha representing the Women Empowerment Wing of MANSA. 

Appreciating the visit by the MANSA panel, Dr. Malini Shankar expressed interest in taking part in the Conferences and deliberation proposed to be organized by MANSA in the near term.

Dr. Malini Shankar, an IAS Officer of 1984 batch from Maharashtra cadre was appointed as Director General, Shipping, Ministry of Shipping, succeeding Deepak Shetty, IRS, who retired on November 30 last year. Prior to her appointment as DG Shipping, she was Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Maharashtra.

In her illustrious career so far, she has handled several diversified portfolios including Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation, Revenue - Registration of documents and Stamp Duty Collection. She was also Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Maharashtra, Department of Environment from May 2015 – May 2016, Mumbai.

Academically, Dr. Malini Shankar holds Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), Public Policy - Institutional Economics 2005 – 2012 from prestigious IIT Madras

Latest Updates