Please wait...

VGR 2017
SMA 2017

Latest News

All India Port & Dock Workers’ Federation (AIP & DWF) held Working Committee Meeting at JNPT

BSN Network
Date: 16/08/2017
images/latest_news/1502873242all india port & dock workers.jpg

All India Port & Dock Workers’ Federation (AIP & DWF) held Working Committee Meeting at JNPT on 10th and 11th August, 2017.  The Office-bearers and representatives from 10 Major Ports i.e. Mumbai, JNPT, Cochin, Kandla, Goa, Paradip, Chennai, Kolkata, New Mangalore and Tuticorin, were participated in the meeting.
The meeting was chaired by Com. P.M. Mohd. Haneef, President of All India Port & Dock Workers’ Federation and Shri Dinesh Patil, President of JNPT Ekata Kamgar Sanghatana, and also the Joint Secretary of AIP & DWF, welcomed the participants.  The meeting was inaugurated by lightening Lamp by all Office-bearers of the Federation and discussions took place about the Major Port Authorities Bill, 2016, recently placed before the Parliament for representing the Major Port Trusts, Act, 1963 and impact of the proposed Bill on the Ports and its workers such as Production of Job, Wage Structure, Service conditions including Pension to the Retired workers and Nomination of two Labour Representatives in the existing provision of MPT Act, 1963, which has been reduced to one in the proposed Bill.
The Committee unanimously agreed upon the decision taken in the joint meeting of the Six Federations representing Port and Dock workers of 11 Major Ports of the country met at New Mangalore on 28th July, 2017 to resort to nationwide Indefinite Strike w.e.f. 18th August, 2017, onwards.
The Office-bearers of AIP & DWF, Com. M.L. Bellani – Addnl. General Secretary (Kandla), Com. G.M. Krishnamurthy – Working President (Chennai), Com. Suresh Shetty – Vice President (New Mangalore), Com. Leonard Rodrigues – Sr. Vice-President (Goa), Com. Kersi Parekh – Dy. General Secretary (Mumbai) and Secretaries – Com. S.R. Yadav, Mrs. Kalpana Desai, Com. R.M. Murthy, Com. Uday Chaudhary (Mumbai), Smt. Seema Mohan, Com. Joseph Chako (Kandla), Com. D’Cruz (Goa), Com. Satyanarayana (Tuticorin), Com. Thomas Sebastian, Com. Damodaran, Smt. Razia (Cochin) and other Office-bearers from JNPT participated in the meeting.  Com. Kersi E. Parekh – Dy. General Secretary of AIP & DWF proposed Vote of Thanks.

Latest Updates